Connect with us

23 candidates have been cleared by Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) to run for Kibra MP Seat. 

IEBC said 16 candidates will contest under various political parties while seven will run as independent candidates.

In a statement, the electoral commission indicated that a total of 30 candidates had registered to vie in the by-election penciled on November 7th but seven were either disqualified or failed to turn up for clearance on Tuesday.

Jubilee Party candidate McDonald Mariga is among those who were disqualified although he can file an appeal. Mariga was barred from running after IEBC failed to find his name in the 2017 voters’ register. 
Late MP Ken Okoth’s brother Bernard ‘Imran’ Okoth was cleared to run on an Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) party ticket.

Other candidates who were cleared include Eliud Owalo of Amani National Congress (ANC) and Eng. Khamisi Butichi of Ford Kenya party.


The Kibra parliamentary seat fell vacant following the death of former Member of Parliament Ken Okoth, who succumbed to cancer while undergoing treatment in Nairobi Hospital on July 26th.


Source link