Connect with us

General News

Chaos as TSC suspends 58 of 134 teachers in Mashuuru, Kajiado



Learning in Mashuuru Sub-county, Kajiado County has been thrown into disarray following the interdiction of 58 teachers by the Teachers Service Commission (TSC).

Mashuuru zone has a total of 134 teachers and 34 schools.

The commission interdicted the teachers based on allegations that they opposed the roll out of the new Competency Based Curriculum (CBC).

Among those interdicted, are 22 head teachers and 36 teachers in Mashuuru zone only.

Citizen TV visited Eselenkei Primary School where four TSC teachers and the headteacher were interdicted.

The pupils have been left under the care of two PTA teachers who are now forced to combine classes for easier supervision.

Mr. Paul Saitoti, a headteacher of Parsinti Primary School which has an enrollment of 320 pupils, was at home looking after his cattle since he was also served with an interdiction letter.

On Monday, all the interdicted teachers held a crisis meeting in Mashuuru attended by officials from the Kenya National Union of Teachers (KNUT) and Kenya Primary Schools Head Teachers Association (KEPSHA).

KNUT Rift Valley branch Secretary-General Elly Korinko termed the interdiction as malicious noting that some of those who received interdiction letters were on sick leave.

The officials from KNUT and KEPSHA have issued a stern warning to TSC demanding the immediate reinstatement of the interdicted teachers.

For Citizen TV updates
Join @citizentvke Telegram channel

Video Of The Day: Heavy Obstetric Fistula burden for West Pokot County

Source link