Connect with us


Defending champ Kipruto, Kamworor confirmed in deep London Marathon field



Defending champ Kipruto, Kamworor confirmed in deep London Marathon field

NAIROBI, Kenya, Feb 1 – Defending champion Amos Kipruto and two-time New York Marathon winner Geoffrey Kamworor are some of the huge names confirmed for this year’s London Marathon which is set to revert to its traditional April dates.

Kipruto won his first ever major title on the streets of London last year, clocking 2:04:39.

Also confirmed in the deep London field is Valencia Marathon champion Kelvin Kiptum, who recorded the fastest ever Marathon debut when he clocked 2:01:53 in the streets of the Spanish city.

Kipruto will look to defend his title in London and also punch a second Major Marathon title.

The 30-year-old, who was second at last year’s Tokyo Marathon behind world record holder Eliud Kipchoge and third in the 2019 World Championships, said: “Winning last year’s London Marathon was an incredible experience for me. I am now preparing hard for this year’s race and I can’t wait to return to London as the champion,” he said.

Kipruto added; “London always has a really strong field and this year is the same so I know I will face a battle to defend my title, but I’m confident and looking forward to it.”

Kenya’s Vincent Kipchumba crosses the finish line to clinch the 2019 Amsterdam Marathon title

Also lined up in London is the second-placed finisher in both 2020 and 2021 Vincent Kipchumba who has a Personal Best time of 2:04:28.

The Kenyan contingent will come up against stiff Ethiopian opposition, led by the second fastest man in history, Kenenisa Bekele.

Other Ethiopian men in the line up include Birhanu Legese, Mosinet Geremew as well as world champion Tamirat Tola.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Tola, 31, is in a fine run of form over the marathon, winning the 2021 Amsterdam Marathon and finishing third at the 2022 Tokyo Marathon (behind Kipchoge and Kipruto) before winning his world title last summer.

Also in the field is last year’s runner-up Leul Gebresilase.

Elite men at the 2023 TCS London Marathon

Amos Kipruto (KEN, PB 2:03:13)

Kenenisa Bekele (ETH, 2:01:41)

Kelvin Kiptum (KEN, 2:01:53)

Birhanu Legese (ETH, 2:02:48)

Mosinet Geremew (ETH, 2:02:55)

Tamirat Tola (ETH, 2:03:39)

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Kinde Atanaw (ETH, 2:03:51)

Leul Gebresilase (ETH, 2:04:02)

Vincent Kipchumba (KEN, 2:04:28)

Seifu Tura (ETH, 2:04:29)

Sir Mo Farah (GBR, 2:05:11)

Geoffrey Kamworor (KEN, 2:05:23)

Source link