Connect with us

General News

Not a shilling more for counties, Uhuru maintains : The Standard



President Uhuru Kenyatta at the Nakuru County Assembly when he launched new Ugatuzi Plaza and a refurbished debating chamber today

President Uhuru Kenyatta has maintained his stand that counties will not get a shilling more of the Sh316 billion allocated by the National Assembly in the contested Division of Revenue Bill 2019.

Governors and senators have been pushing to have Sh335 billion that the commission on revenue allocation gave counties for the financial year 2019/2020.
“It is unfortunate that every day has turned out to a competition between the two houses while Kenyans are now suffering the brunt of this standoff. With all due respect, agree with me that there is money so that the little available funds can be released so that Kenyans can be served,” Uhuru said.
Instead, the President advised governors to ensure prudent management of public funds sent to counties, urging them to find ways to improve their own revenue collection to finance counties.
SEE ALSO :Kiswahili-speaking US ambassador McCarter turns to Sheng to fight graftMaking a historical address at the County Assembly of Nakuru today, the head of State said counties must learn to work with the available resources because there is no more money to what has already been allocated.
His address to ward representative at the newly refurbished chamber was the first for a sitting president under the devolved system of government.

The refurbishing of the debating chamber and construction of the plaza cost Sh230 million. [Kipsang Joseph, Standard]

He opened a new Sh230 million Utaguzi Plaza at the assembly, more than 51 years after his father – Mzee Jomo Kenyatta — the founding president inaugurated the Central Rift County Council chambers and an office complex.

The new Ugatuzi plaza at the Nakuru County Assembly. [Kipsang Joseph, Standard]

On October 23, 1967 Mzee Kenyatta opened the buildings that stands adjacent to the new facility in a move touted to cement the regional (Majimbo) system of government.
The Majimbo system was however abolished in 1974 and the Central Rift County Council disbanded followed by the formation of Nakuru County Council.
SEE ALSO :I run the government when Uhuru is away, Ruto tells criticsThe council comprised of 50 elected and 19 nominated councillors.

We are undertaking a survey to help us improve our content for you. This will only take 1 minute of your time, please give us your feedback by clicking HERE. All responses will be confidential.

Related Topics
Uhuru KenyattaDivision of Revenue BillRevenue division

Source link





Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :