Connect with us

General News

EACC picks Twalib Mbarak as new CEO



More by this Author

The Ethics and Anti-corruption Commission has nominated ex-military intelligence officer Twalib Abdallah Mbarak to be the new CEO at the anti-graft agency.

Mr Mbarak will replace Halakhe Waqo, whose six-year, non-renewable term is ending.

He bet 13 candidates who had applied for the position including Michael Mubea, who is the deputy EACC chief executive.

Mr Mbarak is currently the Security and Integrity Manager at the power generating firm Kengen.

Others who were shortlisted for interviews were Ms Sarah Kilemi, National Police Service Commission board official Murshid Mohamed, Mr James Warui, Mr Vincent Omari, Mr Jillo Kasse, Mr Chege Thenya, Mr Reuben Chirchir, Mr Cyrus Oguna, Mr Abdi Mohamud, Mr Twalib Mbarak, Mr Joel Mabonga and Ms Lucy Wanja.

Mr Waqo took office in January 2013, when EACC replaced the now defunct Kenya Anti-Corruption Commission.

The EACC chief executive post is a one term, non-renewable contract of six years.

Mr Mbarak’s name will be forwarded to the National Assembly for vetting and approval.

Qualifications for the post include a post-graduate degree from a recognised university, and clearance certificates from the Kenya Revenue Authority, Directorate of Criminal Investigations, Higher Education Loans Board, Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission and the Credit Reference Bureau. ​