Connect with us

General News

Door still open for striking Shujaa players



Eleven Kenya Sevens rugby team players who have declined to sign new contracts with the Kenya Rugby Union have been given another chance to rethink their position.

The players refused to sign the contracts after the KRU failed to meet their wage demands.

The players include Collins Injera, Willy Ambaka, Dennis Ombachi, Jeffrey Oluoch, Nelson Oyoo, Andrew Amonde, Billy Odhiambo and Eden Agero, who captained the national side in the last two legs.

KRU CEO Sylvia Kamau said they have had a series of meetings with the players and as much as they understand their position, there is little they can do with the current financial situation. “We have met them and they have raised demands to enable them cater for their family obligations including school fees and rent and we completely understand them. However, at the moment, we can’t offer what they want since we have no sponsors at all,” she said.

The union held two meetings with the players last month where they raised several issues including proper 8 week pre-season training, a proper training gym, supplements and a good strength and conditioning coach. The union agreed that players could still be selected in the national team before the season is over depending on sponsorship and head coach Paul Murunga.

At the moment, 20 players have been given new contracts covering the 2020 Tokyo Olympics qualifiers. A section of the players were called up as late as last week after it emerged that the senior players will not sign the contracts. The team is currently preparing for the Hamilton and Sydney Sevens, where Murunga hopes to improve on their performances following a bad start in Dubai and Cape Town Sevens, where they managed a mere four points.

Meanwhile, KRU are optimistic they will get new shirt sponsor before the season ends. Their deal with Brand Kenya came to an end last December and they are hoping for fresh negotiations soon.

Source link