Connect with us

General News

Court Orders Uhuru to Appoint Six Remaining Judges



President Uhuru Kenyatta has been directed to appoint the remaining six judges to their respective courts within the next 14 days.

In June President Kenyatta declined to appoint six out of 40 judges citing that the six did not fit the criteria for appointment or promotion to the specified courts and that their nominations were to be sent back to the JSC. he declined to approve in June within

In a ruling made on Thursday, 21st October a three-judge bench comprising Justices William Musyoka, James Wakiaga and George Dulu deemed that Uhuru should have made all the 40 appointments without leaving out anyone.

“Upon the lapse of the 14 days, without Uhuru having made the appointment it shall be presumed that his power to make them has expired and his office becomes functus so far as the appointments are concerned and the six nominees shall be deemed duly appointed effective from the date of default as Judges of superior courts for which they were recommended,” said the bench.

Katiba Institute had moved to court to challenge the President’s decision to omit the six judges from promotion.

The six rejected judges include Aggrey Muchelule, George Odunga, Weldon Korir, and Prof Joel Ngugi who were recommended for the Court of Appeal.

The post Court Orders Uhuru to Appoint Six Remaining Judges appeared first on LitKenya.

Source link