Connect with us


Comedian MCA Tricky voted Kenya’s best in 2018 – Nairobi News



Churchill Show comedian MCA Tricky crowned the Best Performance TV comedy category at 2018 Kalasha Awards

Two years ago, no one knew who he was, but now he has made a name in the entertainment industry and is the best comedian in Kenya.

Churchill Show comedian MCA Tricky was on Saturday evening crowned the Best Performance TV comedy category at star studded 2018 Kalasha Awards gala, although he wasn’t present to pick his trophy.

His grass to grace story has endeared him to the audience more and he recently joined the Standard Group as a radio presenter on the Radio Maisha Asubuhi show alongside Billy Miya.

MCA Tricky was roped in to provide humour on the breakfast show.


When he got the news of his big win, MCA Tricky could not hide his joy, taking to social media to thank all his fans.

“Sijui niseme nini, I want to thank Churchill for giving me this platform and to all my fans, tangu tuanze hii journey in 2016 tutazidi mpaka siju 20 sijiu nini. So much proud of my fans, asanteni kwa kuwezesha art yetu kugrow!” he said.

On a lighter note, he also thanked his watchman who he said used to open the gate for him late at night after every show.

This years award ceremony, which were held at held at Safari Park Hotel, Nairobi, was attended by Baringo Senator Gideon Moi, KICC CEO Nana Gacega and Nairobi Women Representative Esther Passaris among others distinguished guests.

Media personalities Amina Abdi and Jeff Koinange did a great job as the emcees of the night.

Full list of the winners:


  • Best Lead Actor TV Drama – Eddie peter – My Two wives
  • Best Lead Actress TV Drama – Diana Mulwa – My two wives
  • Best Performance TV comedy – MCA Tricky – Churchill Show
  • Best Programming Code – K24 TV
  • Best Host TV show – Emcee Jessy – Churchill Raw
  • Best TV Drama – Selina – Reuben Odanga
  • Best TV show – Churchill Raw
  • Best TV Comedy – The Real Househelps of Kawangware
  • Best TV advertisement – Modern Coast, Life is a journey
  • Kituo Halisi Award (Local Content) – Kenya Broadcasting Corporation (KBC)


  • Best Lead Actor – Johnson Chege – Supa Modo
  • Best Lead Actress – Brenda Wairimu – Subira
  • Best Director – Rayneet Sippy Chanda – Subira
  • Best Supporting Actor – Pascal Tokodi – Disconnect
  • Best Supporting Actress – Marianne Nungo – Supa Modo
  • Best Director of Photography – Andrew Mageto –  Disconnect
  • Best Editor – Roselida Tabu and Terry Kelly – Subira
  • Best Sound Design – Eric Musyoka – Disconnect
  • Best Lighting – Saul Ogada – Subira
  • Best Special Effects – Stephen Mwangudza – Ramah potter
  • Best Production Designer – Neha Manoj Shah – Supa Modo
  • Best Animation Production – Brian K. Tarus – Isolated
  • Best Diaspora Production – The Silent Battle – Samuel Oluoko
  • Best Documentary – Thank you for the Rain – Emily Wanja
  • Best Documentary by a student – No means No – Bobby Owuor
  • Best Student Film – White Feature – Martin Okello
  • Best Feature Film – Subira
  • Best Short Film – Poacher – Davina Leonard
  • Best Local Language Film – World Tofauti – Kang’ethe Mungai
  • Best Original Score – Hart The Band – World Tofauti
  • Best Original Screen Play – Supa Modo
  • Life Achievement Award – Njeri Karago