Connect with us

Trending Videos

KRU Urges for more sponsorship as Betsafe chips in




Kenya Rugby Union,KRU,  has lauded recent partnership between the association and betting firm Betsafe in an arrangement that will see Betsafe inject a total of Ksh.5.9 million into this seasons national rugby sevens circuit.

The circuit began last weekend with the Kabeberi Sevens that saw KCB clinch the title after seeing off Strathmore Leos 12-10  in a nail biting final.

The second leg of the six legged series, Christie Sevens is scheduled for this weekend May 28th-29th at RFUEA Grounds, Nairobi .



KCB won the opening leg of the National rugby sevens circuit


Commenting on the sponsorship during the unveiling of the partnership at RFUEA Grounds over the weekend George Mbaye, Mwamba RFC Chairman,stated how vital the deal was to the clubs.

“As stakeholders, and part of the hosts of the 7s series, we are indeed glad to have this sponsorship from Betsafe. The support goes a long way into managing the expenses. Three clubs will be going home with some money in their pockets, and that is what we need,” said  Mbaye.

Peris Mukoko, KRU director, underscored the value of sponsorships to the circuit.

“This is a good opening to the first of 6 legs. Betsafe have opened the door for other sponsors  to come on board and see how best they can support the 7s teams that make up the  national squad, Shujaa,” said Mukoko.

About the sponsorship:

Winners of each individual tournament will walk away with Ksh.100,000 while second and third place finishers will be awarded Ksh.50,000 and Ksh. 25,000 respectively.

Overall winners of the six-leg circuit will pocket Ksh.500,000 while first and second runners up will be awarded Ksh.300,000 and Ksh. 100,000 respectively.

Each hosting club will also receive Ksh.500,000 while KRU is set to receive Ksh.1Million to manage and organize the circuit.


Christie Sevens Pools

Pool A: KCB RFC, Nakuru RFC, Kenya Harlequins,JumiaPay Pirates.

Pool B: Strathmore Leos,Daystar Falcons,BlakBlad,Impala.

Pool C: Menengai Oilers,Masinde Muliro,Kabras Sugar,Nondescripts.

Pool D: Homeboyz,Mwamba,Western Bulls,Catholic Monks.


2022 National Rugby Sevens Circuit:

Kabeberi Sevens-May 21/22nd Nairobi

Christie Sevens-May 28/29th-Nairobi

Driftwood Sevens-June 18/19th –Mombasa

Dala Sevens-July 2/3rd-Kisumu

Prinsloo Sevens-July 9th/10th-Nakuru

Kakamega Sevens-July 16th/17th-Kakamega

Source link