Connect with us

General News

Form one county school selection begin




The selection process of students joining extra County, county and sub-county secondary schools will give priority to vulnerable learners with excellent performance, the government says.

The exercise launched Wednesday is clustered in regions and at Afraha High School in Nakuru County, the selection process was conducted for seven counties from South Rift under the supervision of Education Principal Secretary Belio Kipsang.

The Rift Valley Regional Education Co-ordinator Mary Gatur who represented Education Cabinet Secretary Amina Mohammed said the government seeks to scale up enrollment to secondary schools of teenage mothers, refugees and inmates deemed to be most at risk of falling by the wayside.

In a speech read by Gatur, the CS said the three day exercise will ensure all the 12,400 candidates that scored 400 out of the possible 500 marks join national schools.

Get breaking news on your Mobile as-it-happens. SMS ‘NEWS’ to 22163

Mohammed said in line with the government`s full primary to secondary school transition policy, the ministry of education will place 1,032,334 candidates in secondary schools.

Among them are 19 candidates with special needs who she said will be admitted to various national special needs education schools to pursue their secondary education.


Tell Us What You Think