Connect with us

Trending Videos

Holders KCB headline Pool A of Christie 7s



Kenya Rugby has confirmed the pools for the second round of the 2022 National Sevens Circuit at the RFUEA Ground on 28-29 May 2022.

After their Cup win at last weekend’s season opening Kabeberi 7s at the same, series champions KCB are top seeds and head Pool A at the Christie 7s while runners up Strathmore Leos, Menengai Oilers and Homeboyz headline the remaining pools.

KCB, who are also the defending Christie 7s champions will duel with Nakuru FRC, hosts Kenya Harlequin and JumiaPay Pirates in Pool A.

Strathmore Leos will play Daystar Falcons, Blak Blad and Impala in Pool B. Menengai Oilers headline Pool C as the third placed team at Kabeberi and face Masinde Muliro, Kabras Sugar and Nondescripts.

Homeboyz, meanwhile, while play Mwamba, Western Bulls and Catholic Monks in Pool D.

KCB Rugby are the defending Champions having beaten Nakuru RFC 12-7 in the 2019 final. After recovering from behind to draw the game 7-7 at full time, KCB needed an Elphas Adunga sudden death try to win the title.

The Christie Sevens, which began in 1962 and was incorporated into the Kenyan National Sevens Circuit in 1999, is Kenya’s oldest club sevens tournament.

It is named after Alex ‘Sandy’ Milne Christie, a Kenya Harlequins President, experienced rugby player, and referee for Dar-es-Salaam, Tanzania, Kampala, Uganda, and Mombasa, Kenya, who also served as President of the RFUEA and Vice-President of Wasps RFC in England.

Source link