Connect with us

General News

Raila Odinga & 3 Other Politicians Who Resigned as MPs in Kenya



On Thursday, rumours spread like bush fire that Gatundu MP Moses Kuria had resigned by writing to National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi.

However, Kuria held a presser and later refuted the reports maintaining his support for President Uhuru Kenyatta.

This is not the first time a sitting legislator has called it quits as this has been witnessed before.

Raila Odinga

In 1994, it is reported that NASA leader Raila Odinga took a huge political gamble by resigning as Lang’ata MP.

This came after a fall out between the then Saboti MP Michael Kijana Wamalwa and himself over the leadership of Ford Kenya.

Following the death of his father Jaramogi Oginga Odinga in 1994, a war over the leadership of Ford Kenya arose. 

As the rivalry between the duo escalated, Raila resigned and joined little-known National Development Party (NDP). 

He used the outfit to contest in the subsequent by-election and recaptured his seat.

Since then, the Lang’ata MP seat became synonymous with Raila. He went on to defend it in three subsequent elections.

Mark Too

In 2001, Mark Too gave up his seat as a nominated Member of Parliament in KANU, to pave way for then President Daniel Moi to nominate Uhuru Kenyatta to parliament.

There had been speculation for nearly a year of an impending resignation by an MP in KANU.

Experts believed that the move was planned in order for the KANU government to reorganize itself ahead of the 2002 General Election.

Moi would subsequently appoint Uhuru to the Cabinet as minister for local government.

Five of the president’s so-called young turks were also put in strategic and powerful positions.

They included cabinet Ministers Musalia Mudavadi, Julius Sunkuli, Raila Odinga and assistant minister William Ruto.

Retired president Daniel Moi (left) and former Nominated MP Mark Too

Too died in Jan 2017.

Charles Njonjo

According to records, Kenya’s first black Attorney General Charles Njonjo quit his post as AG and successfully ran for Kikuyu MP in a snap election in 1980.

Reports claim that he was forced to resign as MP in 1983 after the August 1982 failed coup against President Moi.

The veteran former AG then opted to concentrate on his business empire.

Josephat Karanja

Dr Josephat Njuguna Karanja, the fifth Vice-President of the Republic of Kenya between 1988 and 1989, was forced to resign to avoid an ongoing vote-of-no-confidence in the Kenyan Parliament.

He was accused by the now late Hon. David Mwenje, Member of Parliament for Embakasi Constituency, of wanting to overthrow President Moi’s government by soliciting help from foreign nations.

He was a member of parliament for Mathare Constituency (today Kasarani Constituency) during his VP years but later moved to Githunguri Constituency, which he won in 1992 after two previous failed tries against Arthur Magugu.

President Daniel Moi with Dr. Josephat Njuguna Karanja

David Murathe

Reports have it that former Former Jubilee Vice Chair David Murathe once tendered his resignation letter while serving as Gatanga MP but retracted.

Murathe had allegedly made a deal with Royal Media Services boss SK Macharia to vacate the seat for him to take over in the subsequent by-election.

However, after sending the letter to then-Speaker Francis Kaparo, hours later, he sent another missive terming the resignation as fake.

Source link