Connect with us

General News

Sujan takes lead as Malawi Open enters final leg



More by this Author

Kenya’s Sujan Shah tied at the top of the leaderboard with Zimbabwe’s Tranos Muradzikwa, as a field of 35 players including three amateurs who made the second round now embark on the final leg of the inaugural Malawi Open at the par 72 Lilongwe Golf Club course on Saturday.

Shah, from Sigona Golf Club, fired level par 72 to take his total scores to two under par 142, to tie with the Zimbabwean Muradzikwa who returned the best round so far in the tournament, a three under par 69 to also close the day on 142.

Chasing the two leading pros was a Zambian amateur Kelly Tembo who shot three over 75 to make the cut with level par 144 in third place and with a chance of upsetting the pros depending on how he plays at the weekend.

Meanwhile another Kenyan pro Simon Ngige shot two over par 74 in the second round for a total of two over par 146 to remain in fourth place and still with a chance of clinching the trophy and the first cash prize of $6,375 (Sh637,500).

Moving from 14th place to fifth was David Wakhu who fired level par 72 to bring his total scores to three over par 147, tying with four others including compatriot Dismas Indiza, Zambians Patrick Mwendapole and Dayne Moore as well as Namibia’s Douglas Roux.

On the other hand, save for South Africa-based Stefan Andersen, Zambia-based Anil Shah and Muthaiga’s Ganeev Giddie, the rest of the Kenyans made the cut in the event which is part of the “Warm Heart Pro Tour” being held under the auspices of the Professional Golfers Association of Malawi.

The Malawi PGA president Pat Shycal, who also played though missed the cut, paid tribute to all the sponsors for the great success of the inaugural event which he said had a chance of becoming a major event in the future.

142 Tranos Muradzikwa (Zim) 73, 69

142 Sujan Shah (Ken) 70, 72

144 Kelly Tembo (A), Zam, 69, 75

146 Simon Ngige (Ken) 72, 74

147 David Wakhu (Ken) 75, 72

147 Patrick Mwendapole (Zam) 74, 73

147 Douglas Roux (Nam) 74, 73

147 Dayne Moore (Zam) 73, 74

147 Dismas Indiza (Ken) 71, 76

148 Tony Omuli (Ken) 74, 74.